Review of Little Beach Street Bakery

51miwuoqvvl

Little Beach Street Bakery

Jenny Colgan

William Morrow Paperback

March 31, 2015

 

Blurb from Goodreads:

For fans of Sophie Kinsella, Jojo Moyes, and Jennifer Weiner, a moving, laugh-out-loud novel—with recipes!—about a young woman who begins her life anew as a baker in Cornwall. Continue reading

Advertisements

Let’s Have Coffee (or Tea)! #amwriting #weekendcoffeeshare

 

 

 

Pull up a chair, have a cup of coffee, or tea. I’m having PG Tips right now and will be examining my caffeine intake. More on the reasons for that below. Continue reading

Mouse’s Love Affair…with Pecan Sandies #amwriting

#3 in the third series of Mouse stories. Read the others here.

mouse and pecan sandies

 

Mouse’s Love Affair…with Pecan Sandies

This is my third mission. I presume it’s my third mission. Everyone is already sitting in the conference room when I arrive. Nick Ryder’s voice drones on. He raises an eyebrow at my tardiness but continues speaking. Continue reading

Dreaming Darkness #amwriting

Thanks to Rochelle, as always, for providing a home for these wonderful photo prompts for Friday Fictioneers. If you would like to join in the fun, visit here.

vw-in-israel-wmq

PHOTO PROMPT © Kent Bonham

 

Dreaming Darkness

Darkness threatened as I navigated twisting streets trying to catch a glimpse of Joe’s taillights. This recurring dream inhibited my daytime, injecting uncertainty where none before existed.

Our life was good; why would he leave?

The house shook with thunder. The shepherd cowered between my knees and the stove where I stirred onions in olive oil.

Mary’s tiny voice filled brief quiet gaps. “What game is this, Daddy? How do I play?”

I peered around the doorway to see him, sweating, prostrate on the carpet.

Through thick rain I trailed the ambulance, its taillights red in the eclipsing darkness.

 

end 7/21/2017

Sascha Darlington

Mouse Sits on a Gate and Ponders Life #amwriting

#2 in the new Mouse story. All Mouse entries can be found here.

mouse sits on a gate

Mouse Sits on a Gate and Ponders Life

I am slowly realizing that life in covert ops is just one song on constant repeat, but not a good song and not really a bad song either. It’s that song you don’t mind at first, but the more you hear it, you wish it would sink into oblivion. Continue reading

What’s in a Cover?–Author Maggie McConnell, Guest Spot

Maggie McConnell, the author of Spooning Daisy (you can see my review here) is here to talk about book covers.

Welcome, Maggie!

The cover on the left is Spooning Daisy as published. The cover on the right is how the author would have liked the cover to look.

What’s in a Cover?

What’s in a cover? That, which we call a romance, with any other cover, would still read as sweet.  Right? Continue reading