Haven Book Review and Blog Tour!

HavenTour

Haven Cover

 

 

Haven by Mary Lindsey

Publication Date: November 7, 2017

Publisher: Entangled Teen

“We all hold a beast inside. The only difference is what form it takes when freed.”

Rain Ryland has never belonged anywhere, He’s use to people judging him for his rough background, his intimidating size, and now, his orphan status. He’s always been on the outside, looking in, and he’s fine with that. Until he moves to New Wurzburg and meets Friederike Burkhart.

Freddie isn’t like normal teen girls, though. And someone wants her dead for it. Freddie warns he’d better stay far away if he wants to stay alive, but Rain’s never been good at running rom trouble. For the first time, Rain has something worth fighting for, worth living for. Worth dying for.

Ancient magic and modern society collide in a sexy, spellbinding romance perfect for fans of C. C. Hunter and Maggie Stiefvater that proves sometimes beauty is the beast…

Purchase Links:

Amazon | Amazon Australia | Amazon UK | Amazon Canada | B&N | iBooks | Kobo


SASCHA DARLINGTON’S REVIEW

I never used to do this, but lately I’ve picked up books for which I haven’t read the blurb in months and then it’s like this big surprise as the plot unwinds. This was true for Haven.

If you’ve read as many paranormal novels as I have, you catch on pretty quickly to certain elements, but there were so many surprises and mysteries that made Haven so intriguing to read that it quickly became a page-turner (or screen swisher).

The pov is completely Rain’s, the teenage boy who has been living on the streets of Houston. The voice sounded true to me. He’s a little cocky and a little charming and he’s completely knocked off his feet by Freddie, who is also cocky and tough.

Mary Lindsey has done some excellent and fascinating world-building in the novel. This isn’t your run-of-the-mill paranormal. So much thought has gone into the world-building and the plotting that it was thoroughly enjoyable to read.

I have to admit though, that midway through, Lindsey introduced Petra, who is a witch, and she’s the character I came away liking most of all. She’s described as a freak, especially by Freddie, which kind of annoyed me and didn’t endear me to Freddie. Rain, however, felt his heart open to her and I kind of wished she was the heroine. I would have loved an entire novel about Petra, but not the one that could come as a result of this book’s epilogue (meh).

A lot goes on in Haven. If you like stories that have lots of twists, intriguing characters, and some definite steam, read this.

While it is YA, it’s that YA that could probably appeal to most adult readers of paranormal novels.

I received in ARC (and won a real hard copy! woot!) in exchange for an honest review.


rating: 5-butterflies

5 out of 5 butterflies


AUTHOR INFO:

Mary Lindsey

Mary Lindsey is a multi award-winning, RITA® nominated author of romance for adults and teens. She lives on an island in the middle of a river. Seriously, she does. When not writing, she wrangles her rowdy pack of three teens, two Cairn Terriers, and one husband. Inexplicably, her favorite animal is the giant anteater and at one point, she had over 200 “pet” Madagascar Hissing Cockroaches. The roaches are a long story involving three science-crazed kids and a soft spot for rescue animals. The good news is, the “pet” roaches found a home… somewhere else.

Website | Blog | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Pinterest | Goodreads

GIVEAWAY!!!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

The giveaway is for: 

Swag box including books (not Haven) and fun stuff.* 

A $15 Amazon gift card will be substituted in place of the prize pack if the winner is international.

 

Chapter-by-Chapter-blog-tour-button

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s