Review of Peachy Flippin’ Keen

Peachy Flippin' Keen (Southern Eclectic Book 3) by [Harper, Molly]

Peach Flippin’ Keen

Molly Harper

A Southern Eclectic Novella

Pocket Star

April 9, 2018


A prank war erupts in Lake Sackett, Georgia and coroner Frankie McCready has to turn to the gorgeous but surly new sheriff for help in Molly Harper’s newest Southern Eclectic novella, perfect for fans of Kristan Higgins and Amy E. Reichert.

The McCready Family Funeral Home and Bait Shop has crickets running rampant in the store and hot sauce in the Snack Shack’s ketchup bottles. But as the county coroner, Frankie has enough on her plate without worrying about the increasingly mean pranks being played at her family’s business. And the arrival of Sheriff Eric Linden, both devastatingly attractive and painfully taciturn, is enough to push her over the edge.

Linden, who didn’t seem to get the memo about men in uniform and Southern charm, is condescending and cold, revealing absolutely nothing about his past as an Atlanta police officer, while also making Frankie’s job as coroner as difficult as possible. And with the town’s Fourth of July celebration coming up, it’s essential for McCready’s to be cricket-free and in good working order. Strangling the sheriff will make her job even harder. Can Frankie hold off the threats to preserve her own sanity?

With her trademark “clever humor, snark, silliness, and endearing protagonists” (Booklist), Molly Harper invites fans to return to the family they first met in Sweet Tea and Sympathy. Y’all sit down and stay a while, won’t you?


SASCHA DARLINGTON’S REVIEW

As I began reading Peach Flippin’ Keen, the latest offering in Molly Harper’s Southern Eclectic series and became aware that it was a novella, I panicked. No, no, no! You can’t just give irreverent, blue-haired Frankie a novella! We need a novel of Frankie! Fortunately after doing a quick bit of research, I discovered that there will indeed be a Frankie novel. Phew.

For those of us who can’t get enough of the inhabitants of Lake Sackett, Georgia, Peach Flippin’ Keen is a fun appetizer in the meantime until the next novel comes out.

Frankie had a one night stand in Atlanta, which she sneaked out on in the middle of the night to avoid the awkward morning after. But awkward has just begun because the same man shows up as the new sheriff. Because she’s the county coroner, it’s impossible for her to avoid him. The personality which drew her to him to begin with seems to have dried up and he’s anything but pleasant to her. Likewise, she’s a pain in the butt to him.

Peach Flippin’ Keen has pranks, a possible suspicious drowning, hilarious moments, and the wonderful characters from the preceding Southern Eclectic stories. I love this series so much that I hope Molly Harper continues it for a very long time. If you like humorous women’s fiction with eccentric characters, this one’s for you!

I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

From Amazon:


rating: 4-and-a-half

4 butterflies and a ladybug out of 5 butterflies


 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s