Review of Fame, Fate, and the First Kiss

Fame, Fate, and the First Kiss by [West, Kasie]

Fame, Fate and the First Kiss

Kasie West

February 5, 2019

HarperTeen

Harper Collins Publishers


BlurbFan favorite author Kasie West delivers an effervescent story about chasing your dreams and following your heart, perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Huntley Fitzpatrick.

Lacey Barnes has dreamed of being an actress for as long as she can remember. So when she gets the opportunity to star in a movie alongside one of Hollywood’s hottest actors, she doesn’t hesitate to accept the part.

But Lacey quickly learns that life in the spotlight isn’t as picture perfect as she imagined. She’s having trouble bonding with her costars, her father has hired the definition of a choir boy, Donavan Lake, to tutor her, and somewhere along the way she’s lost her acting mojo. And just when it seems like things couldn’t get any worse, it looks like someone on set is deliberately trying to sabotage her.

As Lacey’s world spins out of control, it feels like the only person she can count on—whether it’s helping her try to unravel the mystery of who is out to get her or snap her out of her acting funk—is Donavan. But what she doesn’t count on is this straight-laced boy becoming another distraction.

With her entire future riding on this movie, Lacey knows she can’t afford to get sidetracked by a crush. But for the first time in her life Lacey wonders if it’s true that the best stories really do happen when you go off script.


SASCHA DARLINGTON’S REVIEW

Fame, Fate and the First Kiss–what fun! Kasie West is such a reliable author that I know when I pick up one of her novels that I am going to be quickly immersed in a story that I won’t want to put down.

This romantic comedy with a good dose of mystery (who is sabotaging the movie set and why do they seem to have a grudge against Lacey?) is a standalone that has crossover characters from West’s Love, Life and the List.

Lacey Barnes is a fun character and snappy dialogue gives her many funny lines and observations that had me chuckling. Her romance with Donavan is a definite opposites attract as Donavan is as studiously serious as Lacey is a quirky, fast-talking day-dreamer who likes harmless adventures so that she can experience new things.

If you’re looking for a light, well-written young adult novel that takes a look at relationships, from familial to romantic, with a touch of zombie (the movie) thrown in, try Fame, Fate and the First Kiss.

I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

Pre-order from Amazon here.


4-butterflies

rating:

4 out of 5 butterflies


Advertisements

2 replies »

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.