Review of Kiss Me in Sweetwater Springs

Kiss Me in Sweetwater Springs

Annie Rains

August 6, 2019

Forever Yours


Blurb: A heartwarming novella in the Sweetwater Springs series from USA Today bestselling author Annie Rains, perfect for fans of RaeAnne Thayne and Debbie Mason.
If Lacy Shaw could have one wish, it’s that the past would stay in the past. And with her high school reunion coming up, she has no intention of reliving the worst four years of her life. Especially when all she has to show for the last decade is how the shy bookworm blossomed into…the shy town librarian. Ditching the event seems the best option until a blistering hot alternative roars into Lacy’s life. Perhaps riding into the reunion on the back of Paris Montgomery’s motorcycle will show her classmates how much she really has changed…

While growing up as a foster kid, Paris Montgomery only felt at home in Sweetwater Springs, which is why he picked the small town to start over after his divorce. He can’t afford to ruin this refuge with another doomed relationship – especially one with a woman who is his total opposite. But when the town’s sweet librarian offers to help him reconnect with his foster dad, he finds they have more in common than he thought. Both are about to discover that home is where the heart is.

I have to tell you that reading this novella in the past day has been so welcome. It’s gentle and sweet, heart-warming and kind. I really needed this.

Lacy Shaw had been pretty much bullied in high school because she had to wear a back brace due to childhood scoliosis. She’s used to being in the background. And now, when it’s time for her 10-year high school reunion, she doesn’t want to go. Why should she subject herself to the bullies again?

Paris Montgomery is the new teacher at the library for a computer skills class for seniors. He’s seemingly a bad boy with his tattoos and motorcycle, but he proves looks are deceiving. He’s seeking refuge from a bad divorce in which his wife cheated and he’s not looking for a new relationship, but there’s something about Lacy that keeps drawing him to her.

If you’ve read my reviews, you know that I am not a fan of most romance novellas that make insta-love a thing. But this one. Wow. I believed in it. I understood Lacy’s trepidation. I understood Paris’ reluctance. I felt the sparks between them. I also felt how drawn to each other they were. Kudos to Annie Rains for evoking all of the feels.

She swallowed. “Are you going to kiss me again?”

His blue eyes narrowed. “Do you want me to kiss you again?”

“Ever since that first kiss.”

Sigh. This is that novella. It makes you feel everything.

If you are in need of a sweet, gentle romance, this is it. It’s part of a series. I understand that it’s 2.5 so I guess that there have already been two books written in the series. This is definitely a standalone because I didn’t note any dependencies.

I highly recommend.

I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.


rating:

4-and-a-half

4 butterflies and a ladybug out of 5 butterflies


Advertisements

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.