Review of Something Just Like This and Blog Tour!

Something Just Like This

Jennifer Probst

November 19, 2019

Evil Eye Concepts Incorporated

Blurb: Jonathan Lake is the beloved NYC mayor who’s making a run for Governor. His widowed status and close relationship with his daughter casts him as the darling of the press, and the candidate to beat, but behind the flash of the cameras, things are spinning out of control. It all has to do with his strait laced, ruthlessly organized assistant. Her skills and reserved demeanor are perfect to run his campaign, but her brilliant brain has become a temptation he’s been fighting for too long. Can he convince her to take a chance on a long-term campaign for love or will his efforts end up in scandal?

Alyssa Block has admired the NYC mayor for a long time, but her secret crush is kept ruthlessly buried under a mountain of work. Besides, she’s not his type, and office scandals is not in her job position. But when they retreat to an upstate horse farm for a secluded weekend, the spark between them catches flame, and Jonathan sets those stinging blue-eyes on winning her. Can she convince him to focus on the upcoming election, or will she succumb to the sweet promise of a different future?

**For fans of Jennifer Probst’s Stay series, Something Just Like This is book four in that series.**

**Every 1001 Dark Nights novella is a standalone story. For new readers, it’s an introduction to an author’s world. And for fans, it’s a bonus book in the author’s series. We hope you’ll enjoy each one as much as we do.**

Purchase Links:

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon AU

I’m frequently iffy about novellas, especially romance novellas, but Jennifer Probst’s Something Just Like This may convert me to being on the more positive side because she knocks this romantic novella out-of-the-park.

Alyssa has been Mayor Jonathan Lake’s assistant for over two years. They’ve grown comfortable with each other, although never crossing any lines. But now, suddenly, they realize how attracted they’ve become to each other. Jonathan’s been selected to be his party’s candidate for Governor. Can they risk a relationship?

I loved this! I loved Alyssa’s habit of throwing out interesting factoids that seemingly have nothing to do with a situation and I loved that Jonathan was charmed by them.

And then at turning point, Jonathan has his own:

“It said the loneliest creature on Earth is a whale who’s been calling out for a mate for over two decades. But he can’t find one because his voice is so different to other whales that they never respond.”

Jonathan from Something Just Like This

Something Just Like This raised so many emotions in such a short span of time but most importantly it ended on “feel good.” I felt Jonathan and Alyssa were a good match. Sexy and sweet.

The only downside for me was that this was book 3.5 in the series and I’d read #3 (see my review here) but not the first two. I think that this novella would have meant even more to me if I’d read the first two, which I am going to do.

I have become a Jennifer Probst fan and look forward to reading more.

I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.


rating:

4-and-a-half

4 butterflies and a ladybug out of 5 butterflies


Book Trailer

Author Information

Jennifer Probst wrote her first book at twelve years old. She bound it in a folder, read it to her classmates, and hasn’t stopped writing since. She took a short hiatus to get married, get pregnant, buy a house, get pregnant again, pursue a master’s in English Literature, and rescue two shelter dogs. Now she is writing again. She makes her home in Upstate New York with the whole crew. Her sons keep her active, stressed, joyous, and sad her house will never be truly clean. She is the New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal bestselling author of sexy and erotic contemporary romance. She was thrilled her book, The Marriage Bargain, was ranked #6 on Amazon’s Best Books for 2012, and spent 26 weeks on the New York Times. Her work has been translated in over a dozen countries, sold over a million copies, and was dubbed a “romance phenom” by Kirkus Reviews.

Author Links:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Newsletter

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.