Betanda Shanam Reviews Audiobook The Dog Share by Fiona Gibson

The Dog Share

Fiona Gibson

March 4, 2021

Avon


Blurb:

Suzy Medley is having a bad day…

… when a shabby terrier turns up at her door. Just like Suzy, Scout has been abandoned, although only Suzy has been left with a financial mess and a business in tatters thanks to her ex.

Suzy takes Scout in and her chaotic world changes in unexpected ways: strangers have never been more welcoming and her teenage kids can’t wait to come home to visit.

Then a chance encounter on a windy Hebridean beach makes things more complicated, because Suzy isn’t the only one who needs a friend.

Scout has plenty of love to go round… but does Suzy?

A wonderfully funny and uplifting story about friendship and second chances (and whisky!), perfect for fans of Gill Sims and Jill Mansell

Purchase Link:
Amazon

I was attracted to this book because we recently got a new puppy! We have always had dogs, at one point we had four, one was fostered. Late last year we lost one of our dogs to Gastro Carcinoma. Those of you who have pets will know the grief is on par to losing a family member because that is what they become, part of your family. So, after much soul and internet searching, we found a puppy that seems to tick all our boxes. We have never brought a puppy from a breeder or private owner before, we had always rescued our pets from local rescue centres, so we never had to choose what breed or think about how the breed was going to fit into our lives.  This puppy, like all our pets before, will become part of our family. She will be shared, shared between my family. By this I mean she will become part of their lives and be loved by all our family and friends.  Animals bring a connection to nature that we cannot get from humans. The thrill of being loved by another species, be it a dog, cat, horse, or rabbit is an experience like no other. It changes your life.  Each time I got an update on our new puppy, I had to share the video or picture with family and friends because they want to have that connection with her, it brings them joy. 

The Dog Share is a story about how one dog who helps to change the lives of those that care for him. It’s a story of second chances, love, and trust. This heart-warming story is narrated by Catherleen Mccarron and Robin Laing both of whom bring Fiona Gibson’s story to life. Their voices help to conjure up the characters and the scenery which makes it easy to ‘live, the story.’

Suzy, in a bid to show her support for her partner, Paul, becomes a silent business partner in his new project, taking over a whisky distillery on a Hebridean Island, which ,due to Paul’s poor management, is now on the brink of liquidation, When Paul decides he has had enough and walks out of the business and her life, Suzy is left to pick up the pieces and deal with the closure of the distillery. Arthur, a young boy who lives on the mainland with his father Ricky, desperately wants a dog of his own but is unable to have one due to Ricky’s working schedule. Ricky is a single parent trying to give his son the life he deserves, despite the past.  

A stray dog, Scout, turns up, unexpectedly at Suzy’s door, whilst she is staying on the island. Scout helps to turn Suzy, Arthur and Ricky’s lives around as  they find themselves connected through Scout. 

 The Dog Share is a fabulous audio book which transported me to the island of Sgadansay. It made me laugh as well as feel the struggles of the characters.  

I would definitely recommend this audio book and give it 4 stars 

I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

1 reply »

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.