Review of Map of the Heart and Excerpt!

Continue reading

Advertisements

Review of How to Walk Away

I originally posted this review in February because I was so excited to share this novel with you. Here is a reposting. How to Walk Away is available tomorrow!


How to Walk Away: A Novel by [Center, Katherine]

How to Walk Away

Katherine Center

St. Martin’s Press

May 15, 2018


From the author of Happiness for Beginners comes an unforgettable love story about finding joy even in the darkest of circumstances.

Margaret Jacobsen has a bright future ahead of her: a fiancé she adores, her dream job, and the promise of a picture-perfect life just around the corner. Then, suddenly, on what should have been one of the happiest days of her life, everything she worked for is taken away in one tumultuous moment. Continue reading

Review of Peachy Flippin’ Keen

Peachy Flippin' Keen (Southern Eclectic Book 3) by [Harper, Molly]

Peach Flippin’ Keen

Molly Harper

A Southern Eclectic Novella

Pocket Star

April 9, 2018


A prank war erupts in Lake Sackett, Georgia and coroner Frankie McCready has to turn to the gorgeous but surly new sheriff for help in Molly Harper’s newest Southern Eclectic novella, perfect for fans of Kristan Higgins and Amy E. Reichert.

The McCready Family Funeral Home and Bait Shop has crickets running rampant in the store and hot sauce in the Snack Shack’s ketchup bottles. But as the county coroner, Frankie has enough on her plate without worrying about the increasingly mean pranks being played at her family’s business. And the arrival of Sheriff Eric Linden, both devastatingly attractive and painfully taciturn, is enough to push her over the edge. Continue reading

Review of Sweet Tea and Sympathy

Sweet Tea and Sympathy (Southern Eclectic Book 1) by [Harper, Molly]

 

Sweet Tea and Sympathy

Molly Harper

A Southern Eclectic Novel

November 21, 2017

Gallery Books


Beloved author Molly Harper launches a brand-new contemporary romance series, Southern Eclectic, with this story of a big-city party planner who finds true love in a small Georgia town.

Nestled on the shore of Lake Sackett, Georgia is the McCready Family Funeral Home and Bait Shop. (What, you have a problem with one-stop shopping?) Two McCready brothers started two separate businesses in the same building back in 1928, and now it’s become one big family affair. And true to form in small Southern towns, family business becomes everybody’s business.
Continue reading

Review of Now That You Mention It

Now That You Mention It

Kristan Higgins

December 26, 2017

HQN Books


Blurb: New York Times bestselling author Kristan Higgins welcomes you home in this witty, emotionally charged novel about the complications of life, love and family

One step forward. Two steps back. The Tufts scholarship that put Nora Stuart on the path to becoming a Boston medical specialist was a step forward. Being hit by a car and then overhearing her boyfriend hit on another doctor when she thought she was dying? Two major steps back. Continue reading

Review of ‘Til Death Do Us Part

‘Til  Death Do Us Part

Eliza Day

Crimson Romance

October 16, 2017


Blurb: Life and death matters take on a whole new twist when a quirky funeral planner tries her hand at matchmaking for a prominent playboy.

Six months ago, Cassidy Baldwin was among Milwaukee’s leading wedding planners, until she became the scapegoat for a corporate scandal. Now the only job she can land is organizing over-the-top themed funerals for her best friend’s family business. Continue reading

Review of Once a Charmer

Once a Charmer

Sharla Lovelace

Lyrical Shine

October 17, 2017


Blurb:  Charmed, Texas, is a close-knit small town where people’s dreams of love can come true. That’s not to say that some people aren’t still waiting, and dreaming . . .
 
By day, Allie Greene stays busy with her family diner, and keeping tabs on her teenage daughter. What’s really exhausting Allie, however, are the nights. Not that she minds Bash Anderson unbuttoning her naughty desires—if only in her dreams. But what was he doing there at all? He’s her best friend, and a father figure to her girl. Talk about awkward. Talk about OMG-heat-and-fireworks that are flipping fifteen years of normal upside down. And now, when Allie needs him as a friend more than ever, logic doesn’t stand a chance against his lips and irresistible deep-blue eyes . . . Continue reading

Review of Save a Truck, Ride a Redneck

Save a Truck Ride a Redneck

Molly Harper

PocketStar

October 16, 2017

Molly Harper brings her signature “clever humor, snark, silliness, and endearing protagonists” (Booklist) to the charming small town of Lake Sackett, Georgia with the new Southern Eclectic series.

Carl and Marianne were high school sweethearts, loving the way only teenagers can—with no thought to logic or pride, just a bone-headed, optimistic frenzy of unicorns and hormones. That was all they needed. Or so Carl thought. Continue reading

Review of The Beachside Christmas

 

The Beachside Christmas

Karen Clarke

September 26, 2017

Bookouture


Snow is falling and there’s romance in the air. Curl up for a cosy Christmas by the fire at Seaview Cottage…

When thirty-year-old Lily Ambrose’s latest relationship ends in disaster, she remembers happy childhood holidays in the seaside town of Shipley and decides it’s the perfect place for a fresh start.

But when Lily arrives, the town’s spirits are as low as her own: the local celebrity due to turn on the Christmas lights has gone on a cruise instead. Keen to prove herself, she calls in a favour and secures gorgeous reality star Ollie.

Lily’s neighbours are initially thrilled, but Ollie is as uncontrollable as he is good-looking. He can’t remember the town’s name, calls the Christmas decorations tacky, and manages to offend everyone. And whilst handsome but stubborn cameraman Craig tries to help, even he can’t stop Ollie’s madcap plans to stage a romance with Lily…

Will Lily be able to keep Ollie under control and bring the Christmas cheer back to Shipley – and find herself a real kiss under the mistletoe?

An addictive, heart-warming and uplifting read about friendship, romance, and Christmas spirit. Perfect for fans of Phillipa Ashley, Cathy Bramley and Debbie Johnson.


SASCHA DARLINGTON’S REVIEW

As I did last year, I’ll be reviewing some of the Christmas offerings that are going on sale soon. (Unfortunately somehow I missed Halloween 😦 , but that’s been the theme this year…not Halloween, but missing things.) I have a feeling that like last year these novels are going to run the gamut from slapstick funny to charming and sweet. So here we go…

While it took me a few pages to get into Karen Clarke’s The Beachside Christmas, once I did I had a very enjoyable time reading about the eccentric characters of Shipley, a fictional seaside town in Dorset.

Lily leaves London for Shipley because of the wonderful holidays her family used to have there when she was young and because those memories involve her beloved Dad who died three years earlier. Also, as a result of a bad relationship and an embarrassing altercation, Lily feels like she needs to start over.

Because she wants to ingratiate herself to her neighbors, she volunteers to find a celebrity for the Christmas lights celebration. Her best friend, Erin, a talent agent, recommends Ollie, an actor who was made somewhat famous by a reality tv series, but who had gotten booted off when he hit someone. He’s hoping to redeem himself.

Ollie is handsome and charming and Lily is attracted until she gets to know Ollie better and realizes he’s a bit of a goof.

The Beachside Christmas is just the sort of book to start the holiday season with. It’s extremely funny, but sweet, a feel good romantic comedy.

Lily is a nice woman who goes out of her way to make people like her, which includes buying an odd assortment of expensive delicacies she doesn’t know what to do with when she’s told Ollie (rather posh and schooled at Eton) is going to be staying with her. Craig comes across as a tough nut at the beginning, but the reader soon realizes he’s a nice, sensible guy, loyal with good values, and steady. No characters are over-the-top mean and even the ones who seem a bit sharp initially are softened over time. Most are fully developed characters.

Even the magical, life-saving cat, Marmite, is a fully developed, if still enigmatic, character.

While I understand that this is part of a series, it wasn’t obvious. This can very much be read as a standalone novel.

I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.


rating: 4-butterflies

4 out of 5 butterflies