Review of Christmas at Strand House

 

Christmas at Strand House

Linda Mitchelmore

HQ Digital

December 4, 2018


Blurb: A holiday to change their lives forever!

A festive feel-good holiday read, perfect for fans of Lilly Bartlett, Tilly Tennant and Eve Devon.

When Lissy inherits her late godmother’s seaside villa, Strand House, she decides to turn her life upside-down and move to the seaside. Continue reading

Advertisements

Review of Night of Miracles

Night of Miracles: A Novel by [Berg, Elizabeth]

 

Night of Miracles

Elizabeth Berg

Random House

November 13, 2018


Blurb: Lucille Howard is getting on in years, but she stays busy. Thanks to the inspiration of her dearly departed friend Arthur Truluv, she has begun to teach baking classes, sharing the secrets to her delicious classic Southern yellow cake, the perfect pinwheel cookies, and other sweet essentials. Her classes have become so popular that she’s hired Iris, a new resident of Mason, Missouri, as an assistant. Iris doesn’t know how to bake but she needs to keep her mind off a big decision she sorely regrets.
Continue reading

Review of A Vicarage Wedding

 

A Vicarage Wedding

Kate Hewitt

Tule Publishing

July 16, 2018


Blurb: Rachel Holley has always dreamed of a wedding—the white dress, the fairy tale, and of course, the happily-ever-after. But when her fiancé breaks it off the night before, claiming she doesn’t love him, Rachel’s fairy tale ends in ashes.

Homeless, hopeless, and feeling like her life has been completely derailed, Rachel must start over in all sorts of ways—and hold her head up high in the fishbowl of her tiny village. The last person she expects to become a friend is Sam West, the taciturn owner of The Bell, Thornthwaite’s rougher pub, and a little rough around the edges of himself. Continue reading

Review of When We Found Home

When We Found Home by [Mallery, Susan]

 

When We Found Home

Susan Mallery

July 10, 2018

Harlequin


Blurb: Life is meant to be savored, but that’s not easy with no family, limited prospects and a past you’d rather not talk about.

Callie Smith doesn’t know how to feel when she discovers she has a brother and a sister—Malcolm, who grew up with affection, wealth and privilege, and Keira, a Continue reading

Review of How To Keep a Secret

How to Keep a Secret by [Morgan, Sarah]

 

How to Keep a Secret

Sarah Morgan

July 10, 2018

Harlequin


Blurb: When three generations of women are brought together by crisis, they learn over the course of one hot summer the power of family to support, nourish and surprise

Lauren has the perfect life…if she ignores the fact it’s a fragile house of cards, and that her daughter Mack has just had a teenage personality transplant. Continue reading

Review of The Lost Queen of Crocker County

Somehow, very fortunately, the streak of wonderful books, and thus happy reviews, continues!

Also, I am sporting the worst sore throat I’ve ever had (yeah, until the next one 😉 ) and it’s cutting off the blood supply to my brain (or so it feels) so forgive me if the review is not as coherent as usual (hoping that usually they are coherent).

The Lost Queen of Crocker County: A Novel by [Leiknes, Elizabeth]

 

The Lost Queen of Crocker County

Elizabeth Leiknes

July 10, 2018

Sourcebooks Landmark


Blurb: Crocker County crowns a new Corn Queen every year, but Jane Willow’s the one you would remember. She can’t forget Iowa, either. Even though she fled to LA to become a film critic years ago, home was always there behind her.

But when a family tragedy happens, she’s forced to drive back to Crocker County. The rolling farmlands can’t much hide the things she left behind: the best friend she abandoned who now runs a meatloaf hotline, the childhood front porch that sits Continue reading

Review of Ain’t She a Peach

Ain’t She a Peach

Molly Harper

A Southern Eclectic Novel #4

June 12, 2018

Gallery Books


An Atlanta ex-cop comes to sleepy Lake Sackett, Georgia, seeking peace and quiet—but he hasn’t bargained on falling for Frankie, the cutest coroner he’s ever met.

Frankie McCready talks to dead people. Not like a ghost whisperer or anything—but it seems rude to embalm them and not at least say hello. Continue reading